Babergh Green Party Win 4 Seats

9 May 2019

Babergh Green Party has achieved an amazing historic first today with a record FOUR of its candidates winning seats on the District Council.
We have had Green councillors in the past, but between 2015 and 2019 there were no Greens on the Council - until today!

I'm sure you will join me in congratulating Robert Lindsay, Jane Gould and Leigh Jamieson who all won their wards after a strenuous campaign.
Further congratulations are due to Ric Hardacre who won a shock victory in Sproughton and Pinewood ward - by one single vote!
The results were as follows:

North West Cosford
Alexandra Dawson (Con) 287
Robert Lindsay (G) 690

Jane Gould (G) 694
Nicholas Ridley (Con) 272

South East Cosford
Alan Ferguson (Con) 444
Leigh Jamieson (G) 708

Sproughton and Pinewood (2 seats)
Ric Hardacre (G) 437
Christopher Hudson (Con) 352
Zachary Yule (Con) 508
David Plowman (Lab) 436

We are also pleased to announce the election of Green candidate Andy Liffen to Great Cornard Parish Council.

Robert, Jane and Leigh would like to thank all of the members and supporters who helped on the campaign trail door-knocking, leafleting, envelope-stuffing, proof-reading etc. etc. and of course, voting!

Leigh, Jane and Robert celebrate their win with fellow Greens in the photo at the top of the news items

RSS Feed Babergh Green Party RSS Feed

Back to main page

Robert's Blog

Please check out Robert's Blog using the link 

Monthly meeting

  • Next meeting: Tuesday 6th April 7.45pmOnline meeting.  

  For more details, please Contact Laura Smith on


Action Days

The election is just one month away. Jessie Carter is relying on the help of volunteers like you to help her win the first ever Green seat in Sudbury.
There are three more Action Days coming up in Sudbury:
Saturday 17th April
Saturday 24th April
Saturday 1st May
all starting at 10am and again at 1pm

Can you help? If so, please email Jessie at, or reply to this email. Jessie will contact you to provide more details about what to do and where to meet.